Durian Macarons / Icecream sandwich

Durian-Macaron-icecream-sandwich
Durian-Macarons

Durian, the stinky fruit =). Some people love it, some people hate it. Luckily for me a a majority of my friends love durian.

Whenever I think of how smelly durian is I always think back to when I visited Singapore. They had signs up in the train stations and in some taxis “No durian”, makes me laugh thinking about it.

A while back a saw some absolutely indulgent photos of macaron ice cream sandwiches on instagram. Staight away I thought of making some that were durian flavoured. It isn’t durian season at the moment so it took us about 3 weeks before we went out and bought one and then it wasn’t quite ripe enough. Still delicious, just not as good as it could have been.

I was going to try and make the ice cream as well but it was really hard finding the essence. In the end K’s grandma found me some in her pantry that she had brought over from Bali. It didn’t smell good so I bought the ice cream from Serendipity.

Large-shells--baked-and-ready

We followed our usual macaron recipe, added a few drops of essence into the shells and a bit of yellow gel food colouring.

Then we made 6 large shells for the ice cream sandwiches and our usual sized ones for the rest.

 

Durian Ice cream Filling

3 scoops of durian ice cream

Fresh durian cut into 1 cm cubes

  1. Chill a large steel bowl in the freezer.
  2. In the bowl mush together the durian flesh and ice cream, cold rock style!
  3. Put it back in the freezer and chill again. You can also press it into a flat tray and chill in the freezer so you can cut out rounds with a cookie cutter but I wanted balls of ice cream so that wasn’t necessary.
  4. Spoon mixture onto the large shells and enjoy.

Ice-cream-and-fruit

Durian Ganache

Fresh durian flesh, from one large seed, cut into smaller pieces

4 squares (from a block) of white chocolate

  1. Heat the durian flesh in the microwave for 1 minute.
  2. Mash the flesh with a fork so it becomes a paste, if it is still hot throw in the pieces of white chocolate.
  3. Place in the middle of the shell and put the other shell on top pressing lightly so the ganache spreads out.

We heated to durian flesh to bring out some of the sweetness because our fruit wasn’t ripe. If it was ripe enough then we would have heated the chocolate instead and mixed in the flesh after it had cool a little. or you can used just the flesh pureed. Lots of possibilities!

Durian-Macaron-icecream-sandwich2

 

2 comments

  1. I’ve been looking for durian macarons! I love durian, and I’m obsessed with macarons, so when I heard of it, I searched for a place that sells it. These look amazing =)

    1. Thanks! You should try making them! They disappeared so fast I’ll definitely be making more when durian comes in season.

Leave a Reply

