Momofuku Seiōbo at the Star: Pyrmont

June is birthday month in my family, 4 birthdays including K and my dads. Birthdays are the best times to try out somewhere new and special. This year I organised for us to go to Momofuku Seiōbo in The Star.

Momofuku Seiōbo was awarded 3 hats in 2014 by the SMH good food guide and won best restaurant of the year (2012 & 2014).

There’s so much hoo-ha over the online reservation process (you can only book online and 20 days in advance between the hours of 10am – midnight ). I found it quite easy to get a booking but it might have been because I was booking for 4, I guess it fills up quickly if you’re booking for 2.

I got a nice confirmation call a day before our booking and mentioned again that it was for K and my dad’s birthday.  The confirmation call always makes me excited to go to the restaurant, a little reminder that you have somewhere special to go soon.

We got there a little bit earlier than our booking time and got to sit and soak in the atmosphere.  It’s simple, beautifully decorated with a few tables and bar stools surrounding a large open kitchen where you can watch the chefs preparing your food.

Momofuku Bar

Momofuku Seiobo's open kitchen

The open kitchen was my favourite aspect of the restaurant. We got to see the chefs working and I it made me appreciate the food more. My mum and I were watching one of the chefs in particular organising one of the courses of the degustation, she looked like she was taking such care to distribute the sliced root vegetables so nicely on every single one of them.

I had seen on another blog (Not quite nigella) that they had a juice pairing with the degustation that looked very interesting so we ordered one for us and one for my parents to share.

Sparkling tea infused with aniseed

Our first drink paring! Sparkling tea infused with aniseed. The bubbly tea was quite pleasant even with the aniseed flavour, which I’m not a fan of.

3 starter snacks!

3 starter snacks!

Veal with smoked yolk.

Crab and chickpea.

Beetroot with black garlic.

The beetroot was my favourite!

Parson’s nose (aka chicken tail) with trout roe and creme fresh.

Parson’s nose (aka chicken tail) with trout roe and creme fresh.

My mum and I were trying to figure out if there was any difference between the chicken tail and just plain chicken butt.

Either way they were delicious,  so nice and crispy and not filled with oil ( which is why mum used to cut it off before cooking chicken). The trout roe was a nice addition,  so fresh, complimenting the fried morsels so well.

Truffle toast

Truffle toast. It may not look very special but this was fantastic. A nice slice of yummy truffle between crispy and slightly buttered bread squares.

Grape juice

Grape juice! I love grape juice and I never thought that it could taste posh but it did. It was light and clear.

A little break before the main part of the degustation.  We were watching the kitchen staff again and mum pointed out that all the chefs were cooking with tiny pots. A little sauce for each dish especially made each time, not a big pot for all of them. She was very impressed.

Celeriac puree base and blood pudding covered in sliced mushrooms.

Celeriac puree base and blood pudding covered in sliced mushrooms.

Delicious and flavoursome.  I’ve never had blood pudding before. It was good and I loved the mushroom slices. They broke up the richness of the blood pudding underneath.

Watermelon juice

My next pairing, watermelon juice. Nothing special right? Wrong! It tasted like the reddest most tastiest part of the watermelon and strained through the finest mesh.

Seared waygu, burnt watermelon, fermented black bean sauce and shaved root vegetables

Seared waygu, burnt watermelon ( little chucks mixed in with the perfectly cooked waygu), fermented black bean sauce and shaved root vegetables. You have to mix it all together before eating.

Seared wagyu close up

I just loved how the seared waygu was so perfectly cooked. Still so succulent even though the chunks are so small. Definitely looked prettier before mixing.

Seared wagyu all mixed up

Victorian grown roasted green tea with barley and granendula ( marigold flower).

I love these glasses. Victorian grown roasted green tea with barley and granendula ( marigold flower). It was a lovely pallet cleanser for our next dish.

Seared abalone on a disk of artichokes with miso made out of sunflower seeds.

Seared abalone on a disk of artichokes with miso made out of sunflower seeds.

Absolutely perfectly cooked. This was my favourite dish of the night. I dunno how they got the artichoke so thinly sliced and tasty, it was amazing!

Carrot juice

Carrot juice. K even said it was delicious. I asked if he would drink carrot juice if I made it and his reply was, if you make carrot juice like this, I’ll drink it! Challenge accepted!

Steamed flounder with roasted carrot and kelp oil.

Steamed flounder with roasted carrot and kelp oil.

Hard to top the abalone, this dish was tasty but the bones in the flounder and the kelp oil was a bit much for me.

Pear and fennel juice

Pear and fennel juice.

Fried tripe, sliced daikon and king william pear in vegetarian xo sauce

Fried tripe, sliced daikon and king William pear in vegetarian xo sauce.

The piece of tripe on the top was so very crispy. The pear was so nice and sweet and the daikon added a nice texture but it was a bit tasteless without the pear, so eat it together 🙂

Pumpkin and mandarin juice

Pumpkin and mandarin juice. A nice mandarin flavour with a hint of pumpkin. I could see cloudy bits in the juice but it was so smooth and clear when I drank it.

Smoked duck with red cabbage and BBQ sauce made from pumpkin

Smoked duck with red cabbage and BBQ sauce made from pumpkin.

The duck was very tender with salty crispy skin and I really enjoyed the red cabbage.

Potato tart with shredded cheese and bechamel sauce

Potato tart with shredded cheese and bechamel sauce. Sticky and yummy potato.

house made rhubarb soda

Our last pairing of the night, house made rhubarb soda!!! Bubbly and delicious!  It was such a nice one to end on.

Roasted quince with hazelnut ice cream and an almond biscuit brushed with chocolate

Roasted quince with hazelnut ice cream and an almond biscuit brushed with chocolate.

I loved the base and the hazelnut ice cream but I really don’t like quince. It has a sour taste and it was a very thick piece of quince.

Custard with an aniseed meringue topped with chervil ice cream.

Custard with an aniseed meringue topped with chervil ice cream.

The meringue was so hard, it would be good for my sister cos she doesn’t like soft egg white.

Chef cutting up the duck

Chef watch again! We loved watching this chef preparing the duck. He was so careful cutting up the duck, cutting off the fat and then putting it in the oven to keep warm.

Custard based cake cooked in a beeswax mold

Custard based cake cooked in a beeswax mold. I loved the beeswax mold it was crunchy and chewy. A bit sweet, not at all waxy.

Chocolate praline with popping candy base

 

Hazelnut with a praline based cake. Popping candy in the biscuit base! This was a special dessert for the birthday boys! I think it might have been a dessert from the Adriano zumbos across the hall.

Momofuku Fridge display.jpg

Beautiful fridge display!

Momofuku Kitchen.jpg

Thank you all the hard-working chefs!

Momofuku parting gift.jpg

Our parting gift 🙂 packets of yummy tea.

We were all very satisfied at the end of the night. I thought the juice pairing was something special but at $60 on top of $185pp, I guess it’s up to you to decide if it’s special enough. It was nice to try once :).

Visited June 2014

Momofuku Seiōbo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

