Googly Eyed Bunny

Monsieur googly eyes! He is still sitting at home waiting to go to his new home =)

When Odes first showed me a picture of this bulgy eyed bunny, I thought it was very odd looking and frankly just weird but seeing him sitting on my couch the last week, I’ve reconsidered. He’s growing on me =). I still prefer the conventional cutesy amigurumi but I don’t find him as odd anymore.

Monsieur Googly Eyes

Since I was only going off a picture I made his body in the shape of an egg to start with. I used 2 strands of worsted weight yarn held together and a bigger hook because I wasnt keen on doing so many rounds and my prototype egg body was teeny tiny =)

I also filled a kinder surprise egg capsule with a bit of clean gravel, sealed the opening with a bit of tape and put it inside the body so he makes a sound when you shake him.

Onto the pattern!

My teeny eggy prototype next to the kinder surprise capsule

My teeny eggy prototype next to the kinder surprise capsule

Body

Using a 4.5mm hook, start with the bottom colour.

Working in rounds
Start with a magic circle, Sc 6
R1: *2 sc in the next Sc* repeat til end (12sts)
R2: *2 sc in the next Sc, Sc 1* repeat til end (18sts)
R3: *2 Sc in the next Sc, Sc 2* repeat til end (24sts)
R4-R10: Sc in each Sc around, join (24sts)

Join the round so the place where you changed colour isn’t as obvious.

Starting with the new colour, you can change where you joined or pick a new spot.

R11: Sc in each Sc around (24 sts)
R12: *Dec 1, Sc 3* repeat around ( 18 sts)
R13: Sc around (18 sts)
R14: *Dec 1, Sc 4* repeat around ( 15 sts)

I start filling the egg at this point and put in the capsule.

R15: *Dec 1, Sc 3* repeat around (12 sts)
R16: *Dec 1, Sc 2* repeat around (9 sts)
R17: *Dec 1, Sc 1* repeat around (6 sts)
R18: Dec around and fasten off. Pull the tail through to the other end of the egg before trimming.

Bunny's body

For all the appendages I used a 3mm hook and a single strand of worsted weight yarn.

Bulgy eyes

Googly eyesmake 2
Start with white

R1: 6 Sc in a magic circle
R2: *2 sc in the next Sc* repeat til end (12sts)
R3: *2 sc in the next Sc, Sc 1* repeat til end (18sts)
R4: *2 Sc in the next Sc, Sc 2* repeat til end (24sts)
R5: Sc around (24 sts)
R6: *Dec 1, Sc 2* repeat around (18 sts)

Change to brown colour

R7: Sc around (18 sts)

Arms

Bunny's armsmake 2, in the same colour as the top half of the bunny.

R1: 6 Sc in a magic circle
R2: *2 sc in the next Sc* repeat til end (12sts)
R3-R8: Sc around (12 sts)

Ears:

make 2

I used this pattern from repeat crafter me.

Fluffy Tail!

Every bunny needs a fluffy tail! =)

Every bunny needs a fluffy tail! =)

I found out recently that a lot of my friends don’t know how to make a pom pom. It’s very simple =)

using cardboard (or normal paper but its sturdier with a thin cardboard)

Draw 2 concentric circles (use the same point and draw a smaller circle in the bigger circle). Cut out the circles so you end up with a doughnut shaped cut out. Make another one.

Put the two doughnut cut outs together and wrap yarn around the ring, in through the middle hole and over the outer ring and back through the middle hole. Keep wrapping until the middle hole closes.

Now hold the yarn wrapped ring so you’re looking at the thinner side. Using a pair of sharp scissors snip the edges all the way around the ring. Now you should have exposed the cardboard again. Separate the two pieces of cardboard a little and using a long piece of yarn slip it in between the cardboard and tie the ends together (this is what holds all the yarn together). I like the tie a few knots and make sure its nice and tight.

Now you can snip the cardboard and pull it out. The pom pom needs to be trimmed a little so it looks nice a round but thats basically it!

I leave the yarn long and used it to sew the tail onto the body.

Bunny in pieces before assembly

Assembly!!

Position all the parts on with pins first and sew them on using the tails left. I had a super long tail with the eyes so i used that to sew the nose and use for his mustache!

Please send me any pics if you make yourself a mr googly eyed bunny!

Thanks for stopping by!

Pen

5 comments

  1. Funny girl.
    I’m still at kind if scares me stage! I’ll have to come round and stare at him and get used to the googley eye!

    1. Yani you have to be quick! He’s going to his new home soon :). It’s like nameko, he looked weird at first too.

  2. machinegunmama · · Reply

    I love him! Bulgy and sweet lol

  3. […] If you would like to make this funny bunny see my free pattern here […]

Leave a Reply

