Baby mittens

It’s baby season! A friend of mine just had a baby boy!

I’ve seen on Pinterest lately the cutest booties, mittens, hats and all items of crocheted goodies, that I couldn’t resist making something. Since another friend bought a pair of booties, I decided to make a pair of mittens to match the colours of her gift.

image

I came across this gorgeous photo of the cutest baby on the blog dreamalildream. I love the colour she used for her baby girls mittens.

She used a pattern from Crochet Geek . There is a great video tutorial as well as written pattern. I did follow this at first but I tend to crochet tightly and I wanted to be absolutely certain that the mittens would fit so I made them a little bigger.

image

This is my modified pattern below. I used 4 ply worsted weight yarn and a  5.0mm sized hook.

Crocheted baby mittens

Working in rounds
Start with a magic circle, Sc 6
R1: *2 sc in the next Sc* repeat til end (12sts)
R2: *2 sc in the next Sc, Sc 1* repeat til end (18sts)
R3: *2 Sc in the next Sc, Sc 2* repeat til end (24sts)
R4-R9: Sc in each Sc around (24sts)

The next rows creates the ribbing pattern and gathers in the mitten.

R10-R12: *Fpsc in the next 2 sc, Bpsc in the next 2 sc* repeat til end (24sts)

Fasten off and weave in the ends.

The little heart I used the first round of the pattern from Skip to my lou and a very thin yarn with a 1mm hook.

Chain 4.  Make all of the next stitches in the first chain. 3 trc, 3 dc, chain 1, 1 trc, chain 1, 3 dc, 3 trc, chain 2 slip stitch

image

 

image

Leave a Reply

